#36 – The Good Ole Days – Recorded 5-12-07

kate-walsh-4.jpgThis week’s episode opens with a very special PSA from Darwin. But then we’re right into it: the finale of The Amazing Race, Entourage, How I Met Your Mother, King of Queens, 24, Heroes, Gilmore Girls, the season finale of the The Unit, House, America’s Next Top Model, Notes From the Underbelly, Ugly Betty, Grey’s Anatomy, some kind of sneak preview of Traveler, Scrubs and Survivor. Things are winding down, but as the upfronts this week remind us, there’s always some new show ready to fill the void.

3 responses to “#36 – The Good Ole Days – Recorded 5-12-07

  1. Well, it’s about time. I’ve had these here post-it notes full of pithy comments just sitting here on my desk, waiting…

    1- Thanks again for the shout-out. I pride myself in telling you all what I think. Really, it’s what I look forward to all week.

    2- I will admit to falling into the Office/Grey’s Anatomy trap when they overlap. Thankfully, I had my Tivo set up right so that The Office was recorded (I think it’s actually number one on my season pass list). But ABC was smart and reran Grey’s on Friday- did they know that people would ditch the first 20 minutes for The Office? Because they should have.

    3- GG- I have to say that I was really annoyed with the townspeeps in this one. Were they really all going to go up to Yale for the ceremony? It all seemed really forced to me.

    I, too, noticed that Lorelai left her coffee and muffin behind, and I kept thinking that Luke was going to have to run after her with it and was just a little confused when none of that happened.

    Watching the graduation scene, which was shot at USC, was like watching my own graduation. It was more than a little spooky.

    And re: Logan and Rory, I have to disagree with Hil on this one. I really don’t think you can go back in the realtionship to how things were before the proposal. Someone wants to move forward with the relationship and someone else doesn’t- there’s really not a whole lot left to go back to at that point.

    4- House- You really think that Foreman’s not going to leave? Because everything I’ve read (if Entertainment Weekly can be trusted) leads me to think that he’s really going.

    I enjoyed this episode because I didn’t see everything coming before it happened. I didn’t have the whole Wilson spiking House’s coffee thing figured out at all.

    5- ANTM- Well, it certainly was fun to watch Brit’s meltdown. She really seems to be dumber than a box of rocks, which might explain her difficulty with the walking. I find it hard to believe that she’s the first one that no one wanted to book (Ann?), but there you go. Natasha’s comment about people having war in their countries was perfect. In fact, so much of natasha is perfect: her statement about the popularity of eastern european features, the way she makes every negative a positive, and yes, her realness.

    I have to say that I am going to miss Dionne and her frankness. I too would not waste time trying to figure out the Tyra mail and would just go to bed. Although Hil calling her Dani doesn’t reflect well on your ability to “tell them apart.”

    Jaslene has grown on me. Her pictures really look just like Janice Dickenson, so there’s clearly a place for the woman who looks like a drag queen.

    6- Grey’s Anatomy- Seriously, Hil. Your suggestion that the GA spinoff should be called Backdoor Pilot was hilariously awesome. Think Innerspace, but dirtier, and there you are. Although the real title, Private Practice, isn’t all that much better.

    Also, I totally agree about the weirdness/ickiness of the whole slo-mo torso scene. It has to be the most bizarro-looking torso I’ve ever seen. Are we supposed to believe that these three women found this guy attractive? As if.

    Well, that’s all for now. Thanks to wordpress for eating the first version of this post. See you all next week…

  2. 2-I suppose it’s because it was extra long, but last night’s Grey’s Anatomy isn’t going to re run tonight. But then, it doesn’t overlap with The Office, so I suppose this is a ll moot. Except that I couldn’t watch anything between 9 and 10 last night.

    4-That’s maybe why I don’t read.

    5-I don’t get how Brittany is now dumb because of what went on. Actually, I don’t get how anyone is dumb anymore after Kathleen. She’s not Elyse or April certainly, if we’re using the show as a scale of such things, but I’d put her close to the top of the girls who would have been fine without this show. This helps:

    http://www.realitytvworld.com/news/interview-brittany-hatch-talks-about-her-top-model-experience-5149.php

  3. 4 – Yeah, having not yet seen this week’s episode even yet, that seems spoilerly. Sigh.

    6 – I definitely had heard it was called Private Practice and just completely forgot. Because you’re right, it’s a terrible, terrible title.

Leave a Reply

